Welcome

Hello and welcome to my first blog post!

I thought I would set the ball rolling with this by setting the scene a little on what I, and this blog are all about. So first question that needs to be answered is why study Public Relations? Throughout school and college there were always some things I have been good at – writing, communicating and organising projects. As well as this, I have always had an interest in the media and how people are influenced by what they see, read and hear. Upon researching potential degree subjects, Public Relations just seemed to fit the bill in terms of all these things I was good at and enjoyed. For those of you who aren’t quite sure what I mean when talking of this elusive career in PR, this is the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) definition:

Public Relations is about reputation – the result of what you do, what you say and what others say about you. Public Relations is the discipline which looks after reputation, with the aim of earning understanding and support and influencing opinion and behaviour. It is the planned and sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill and mutual understanding between an organisation and its publics. 

So that’s how studying Public Relations came about. I then decided to combine this with French – something I have always loved and I know having a language would make me a stand-out candidate in many career paths.

Next I suppose I ought to answer why start blogging?

Since beginning my studies, starting a blog has always been something I have wanted to try, but inspiration has never really hit. I had plans of starting something for Britain’s Best Student Blogger competition, (@behindthespin) but when the time came around unfortunately my time was filled with university deadlines and other commitments (if I’ve got you intrigued, there will be more on these at a later date!). So now, having finished my 2nd year of studies, I finally have found myself with the time, passion and ideas to write my blog! I’m hoping it will be a great place to share some ideas, show my skills to employers and mostly something I will thoroughly enjoy.

I’m hoping to fill this blog with all things PR, what my studies include and anything else in my world that I think is worth a read. I do hope you follow as there will be more interesting posts coming up very soon.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

