Volunteering – Small Charity Week

As a student, I am always trying to increase my skills, gain experience and create a name for myself in the industry. And one of the best ways I have found to do this is volunteering. Whether it is for a charity or just helping out at a business, volunteering is an excellent way to gain some skills that you can add to your CV which will make you a much stronger candidate for that dream job.

I am lucky enough to have found myself a role at the Small Charities Coalition who “exist to help trustees, staff and volunteers of small charities access the skills, tools, and information they need to get going and do what they do best“.

I am their social media volunteer, there to help maintain social media platforms and disseminate useful information to over 7000 members and supporters. I monitor and update Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and LinkedIn profiles, as well as offering any other help that I can to the rest of the team.

This week (15th – 20th June) has been Small Charity Week designed to celebrate and support the thousands of small charities across the UK – which has also given me a focus for our social media posts. As part of the celebration, myself and the team have been working on our Charities in the Spotlight page, sharing stories of some of our small charity members and celebrating the huge range of work that they do!

As well as this there has been a wealth of advice, events and support offered on our social media pages. I have loved seeing the celebration of small charities that has happened across the week so far, whether it’s sharing a story, becoming a volunteer or donating some money – Small Charity Week has been an inspiring project to be involved with. 

I can safely say that becoming a volunteer has been an excellent way to learn some skills, get some great industry contacts and most of all get an insight into the world of work. Furthermore, social media is becoming more and more important in the world of PR, so I know that the skills I am learning now will not be wasted in the future. Not only have I become a lot more confident in social media, I also regularly receive news releases and newsletters to pick information from and often read articles about the charity sector. This exposure to anything PR and journalism related can only be a good thing for me.

I’d like to send a huge thank you to the Small Charities Coalition team for this great opportunity and hope I can continue helping you out for lots of future projects like this one!

If this has got you thinking, they have an exciting event coordinator volunteer role available, or you can join as a charity or a supporter!

 
Until next time…

Leave a Reply

