My Internship

At the end of August to the beginning of September, I was lucky enough to spend 2 weeks working with O PR as an intern. O is an integrated PR, digital and creative communications agency – one of the most highly awarded agencies outside of London! They have a huge range of clients, including those in retail, leisure and business locally and nationally and they work with a wide range of journalists online and in print to offer the best service to their clients.

OPR

It was a really interesting fortnight, which tasked me with everything from research projects to blog writing. There is no way I could possibly detail everything I learnt but I’d like to share some of my internship highlights…

Working on a huge variety of research projects over the two weeks really helped to hone in my skills for tracking down information. It’s something I know that I need to work on, from feedback on university assignments, so it was great to put my skills to the test on ‘real-life’ clients.

I love to write (Why else would I have started a blog?!) and assisting on writing a blog post for O gave me a chance to do what I love. I also had a go at writing a press release or two, which is one of my favourite elements of PR.

And I’m pretty addicted to social media too. I was on a lot of social media pages during my research and created a social media content plan for a couple of clients too. It was an interesting exercise in changing tone and style of posts to fit the client’s image.

Social-Media-Touch-HD-ForWallpapers.com_

I think that one of the main things that I learnt was that in a PR agency you need to be able to adapt quickly. With clients across all sectors, you need to make sure your tone of writing is relevant, your ideas will appeal to the correct target audience and that you are thinking about that clients’ objectives. This is one of the main things I found when working with O and having a task list that varied.

Working with the team also highlighted the importance of staying organised. Time management skills are completely essential when working on different projects and I tried to pick up some tips from the team on how best to do this.

More personally, it was a real insight into what I’d like to move into as a career. There were some sectors that thoroughly interested me, others that weren’t quite my “thing”, and this is something that I can take forward and use to plan what jobs I will apply for after graduation.

thank-you-clothesline-752x483I’d like to say a huge thank you to all of the team. They were so welcoming and patient with any questions I had and I was glad to be able to try a wide variety of tasks.  It was a hugely interesting fortnight.

Thanks for having me O!

Until next time…

One thought on “My Internship

Leave a Reply

