Things I’ve learnt from reading

One of my favourite pastimes – and procrastination methods I like to disguise as “research” – is reading other blogs. Mostly I follow those to do with PR and communications, but I love foodie bloggers and some fashion and beauty too. 

As well as learning what meal I can throw into my slow cooker next (I’m all for the easy options) I’ve realised there are some things you just won’t learn until you start reading. 

Grammar matters

I don’t know if this one is just me, but as soon as I spot a grammar or spelling mistake, I’m put off from reading any further. It just seems careless.

giphy (1)

Be consistent but be different

I follow blogs based on their content and style, so if their writer dramatically changes their posts then it puts me off a little. I’m all for variety and trying out new posts, but if you have a food blog and suddenly start posting about political news, you’ve lost me! 


Repeat yourself

If you’re tackling a heavier topic, make sure you’re reader understands. I find it useful when a complicated topic is explained and then reitterated at the end. Again, it may just be me, but I like to know I have understood properly. 

Format

Pull quotes, bold highlights and a different layout throughout your post makes it an easier read. I understand that isn’t always appropriate or necessarily that writers style, however I’m not sure I know many people who find essay style blocks of text fun or easy to read.

“There’s nothing worse than reading a blog post that is a copy of another one” 

Be you

Sorry, it turned cheesey very quickly there, didn’t it. You need to blog about something that interests you, something you have knowledge on or something you can bring opinion to. There’s nothing worse than reading a blog post that is a copy of another or one that has no heart in it. 

Until next time… 

If you’re enjoying my blog, please vote for me in the UK blog awards!

  

One thought on “Things I’ve learnt from reading

Leave a Reply

