2016 PR best & worst

There have been some great PR campaigns already this year and we’re only in March! But here is one of my favourites and not so favourite that you may or may not have heard of…

Real life Hitman

The latest instalment of the video game Hitman was released on 11 March, by developers IO Interactive and publishers Square Enix. This time, the missions of Agent 47 will be released in an episodic format.

But the thing that really caught my eye was one element of the launch campaign that was totally unexpected – Real Life Hitman with (wait for it…) the Chuckle Brothers. Yes, you read that right! 

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 10.44.39.png

They released a video in which the infamous children’s entertainers, Paul & Barry, direct an actor around a set designed to be similar to Hitman gameplay. 

Why do I like it so much? It’s daft, it’s unexpected and I think it was a great way for the fairly serious game to show it’s not taking itself too seriously. It’s something that I’m sure the video game community will get on board with. You can watch the video here

National Express Mothers Day

I’m sorry National Express, but you couldn’t have thought of a better idea than this?! The travel company decided to rename popular destinations over Mothers Day weekend. And the result is fairly weak in my opinion, I mean Westward Mum! instead of Westward Ho!?…

I sent a link to the article to my own mum on Mother’s Day and she replied with ‘well thats just naff!’ – point proven I think!

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 10.47.24.png

So what would I have done? Well a few quick ideas could be free travel for mums that weekend; Some sort of Mother’s Day ticket deal; Trips to different locations just for one day… Anything except Plymumth

What campaigns have you loved and hated so far this year? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time…

 

Leave a Reply

