The best advice

With graduation just around the corner (eek) I’ve been having a little look back at what I’ve learnt over the past 3 years. Obviously I have exam results to show my progress and knowledge, but what lessons have I learnt?

I think the most important piece of advice that I’ve been given, aside from the practical and theoretical side of things, is that PR is all about building strong relationships. Whether this be with your client, the media or your team, having strong working relationships will only make your life easier. I can’t remember who said it to me, or where I read it, but it’s stuck with me ever since.

I think I’ve also learnt that the saying is true – you only get out what you put in. I’ve found that if you’re passionate and enthusiastic, you get so much more back from your work.

All this reflection got me thinking; what has everyone else learnt from their PR experience?

charity

I’d love to hear some of the advice that you’ve been given. Let me know in the comments.

Until next time…

3 thoughts on “The best advice

  1. KaySeago says:

    Hi Arianne – great article! The best piece of advice I have ever recieved is to develop a thick skin. Working in PR is difficult at the best of times, but there will always be people willing to walk over you to further their own career. Don’t take anything personally and just learn from each experience and move on 🙂

    Kay

    Like

Leave a Reply

